The Irish Nanny

Sandra Benns Book Cover The Irish Nanny

The Irish Nanny is the third book of the trilogy.

In the summer of 2007, Maureen O’Reilly, a nineteen-year-old who had lived in the small border town of Strabane, Northern Ireland her whole life, packed her suitcase.

After a couple of Skype interviews, she had been offered the position as nanny for a family that lived in Canada, the frozen hinterland. She wasted no time in accepting their offer.

After all, she knew there was no future for her at home. Strabane was nothing but a little, used-up and forgotten border town, where “the troubles” back in the ’60s had bombed the main drag out and graffitied the town beyond recognition. You either had to work in the bar, the daycare or in the mill, like her parents. And the cat was out of the bag around town as to her being bi-sexual. She was sick and tired of being in the closet, but as inexperienced as she was, she knew that this was no way to come out. She had finished her journalism degree early and had an acceptance letter in her hand from the University of Toronto.

As for the position of being a nanny to small children, she had no doubt that she would have them dancing to her tune within a week. Bring it on.

She snapped her suitcase shut and patted herself on the back. After all, what could possibly go wrong?

The Irish Nanny will be available for purchase in Spring 2023.


Book Publisher: Austin Macauley Publishers

Cover Design: Lori Thompson, Graphic a la Design

Cover Graphic: fcscafeine

“There is a crack, a crack in everything, that’s how the light gets in.”
– Leonard Cohen, 1992, Anthem